Welcome to the
Yukon Land Use Planning Council

The Yukon Land Use Planning Council helps Government, Yukon First Nations and Regional Planning Commissions coordinate their efforts to conduct regional land use planning.


Yukon Planning Regions

There are no articles in this category. If subcategories display on this page, they may contain articles.


After working with the Yukon Government and the Tr'ondëk Hwëch'in, the YLUPC established a regional planning process around Dawson City. A Commission was been struck, and worked through the early stages of planning. The process was suspended while the commission was developing a Draft Plan.

The North Yukon Regional Land Use Planning Commission submitted a Recommended North Yukon Land Use Plan to Yukon Government and Vuntut Gwitchin First Nation on March 31, 2008. Plan approval and implementation will now be done the Parties, including consultation with affected communities. With its work complete, the Commission no longer maintains an office or a maintained website. Commission documents are found in the Documents section of this website, here. The Council also provides some of the the Commission's spatial data. The conformity of projects in the North Yukon planning region is also assessed by Council staff on behalf of the Commission.

Peel Watershed Planning CouncilThe PWPC is an arms length commission with members that are jointly nominated by the Yukon, Na-Cho Nyak Dun, Tr'ondëk Hwëch'in, Gwich'in and Vuntut Gwitchin governments. Their land use plan is meant to apply to all Settlement and Non-settlement lands in the planning region. The Commission produced their Final Recommended Plan in July 2011. Regional First Nations and the Yukon Governement are currently reviewing this document in order to accept, reject or modify it.

The Commission's website is still active, and serves up their documents. This website will eventually be decommissioned. Their documents are also served on this website   folder here .

Yukon Planning Regions

There are four regions where planning commissions are yet to be established: Kluane, Teslin, Whitehorse and Northern Tutchone. Up until 2013, we hosted numerous workshops and meetings designed to determine the remaining planning region boundaries and to draft the terms of reference for the next planning region. While there is more work to be done, this work will speed the start of the next planning process once regional planning resumes in the Yukon. At that time both the Kluane and the Teslin regions were getting ready to start planning. While planning in the Northern Tutchone and Whitehorse regions wasn't imminent, we where making progress on their regional boundaries.

Yukon Planning Regions

The three blue areas in the map at right correspond to areas where regional planning under the Yukon Final Agreements is thought to not apply: Southeast: Kaska Dene (Liard First Nation + Ross River Dena Council); central west: White River Core Area (see Kluane First Nation Final Agreement); and, north: Inuvialuit. While planning in these areas (and in northern BC) may be beyond our jurisdiction, collaborative planning arrangements may be reached for areas where there is overlapping Traditional Territories with Yukon First Nations with Final Agreements. There has been little policy developed on this front.



Our Land, Our Vision

Yukon Regional Planning Links

Inactive Commissions:

Planning Resources:

Events Calendar